[Side B] Man Or Astroman – Project Infinity / Propagandhi – Less Talk, More Rock [A pusher’s gift]

January 16, 2012 § 1 Comment

Click on thumbnails to enlarge.

Side B of this tape features simply the “best of” two records which I had on vinyl: tipically you would tape some of the songs you had on vinyl or CD so that you could listen to them on your Walkman. The process was much slower than covnerting or transferring files, and the lenght of the tape was another limit to your playlist. I wouldn’t go back to those days, but with hindsight those limits can be seen as qualities: the attention and dedication you put into choosing which songs to record, made for tapes that you’d literally tear apart by endlessly listening to them. Making a proper mixtape would take hours adding meaning and “aura” to the object itself. If you ever made a mixtape for someone you loved, you know what I mean.

However.

I bet almost every music enthusiat could recall where they bought almost every record they have: in fact I clearly remember the day I bought Project Infinity by Man Or Astroman. That day I went to my favorite record shop, New Zabrinskie Point and left with this Lp plus After Dark  by the mAKE uP and Dead Cool by Chrome Cranks (check’em out!) having spent all my money. I was happily broke. Later I checked with some friends at a park in Milan where notoriusly people went to buy and smoke weed and hang out. Police knew all about it, but for quite some time they didn’t bother too much. I saw a wallet on a bench. I sat down next to it and let it slide in my pocket. I met my friends, let it out and opened it: a fac-simile driving license with the picture of a north-african guy sporting a funny face and something like 300.000 Liras* in it: I had found the wallet of  a pusher. Of course, the thought of giving it back didn’t even cross my mind: we split the cash and had fun. Cherry on top: that day a dealer had paid for my music.

For the record: Man Or Astroman were an American surf-space-age-punk band, but that’s quite reductive, as they were one of the craziest nerdiest bands around in the 90ies. Check out their Wiki page for more infos!

Not much to say about Propagandhi now, more will come soon.

*300.000 Liras (roughly 150€) was quite a sum in 1996, specially for us kids: mind that for the three vynils I had spent less than 40.000 in all and THAT to me was already a lot of money.

Download Side B –  or Stream on MixCloud

Get to Side A

Originally recorded on a DK D-60 cassette.
Noise, cracks and hissing are intentionally left untouched.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to [Side B] Man Or Astroman – Project Infinity / Propagandhi – Less Talk, More Rock [A pusher’s gift]

Press Play+Rec

What’s this?

You are currently reading [Side B] Man Or Astroman – Project Infinity / Propagandhi – Less Talk, More Rock [A pusher’s gift] at Cassette Eater.

meta

